Bridal Makeup: Kissable Lips

image

When you buy your wedding dress you say, “Can I dance in this?” You have to think about what you’ll be doing while you are wearing the dress. So, when thinking about your lip color for the big day you should think “Can I kiss him with this on?”

As important as looking absolutely flawless on your big day is, I think caring about how your future hubs is going to look is just as important! Overly glossed, lined and lip smacked lips look great walking down the isle, but seeing it smeared all over your man’s face on the way back isn’t as cute. So as a bridal makeup artist, I try and think about the makeup and the lip product in particular as more than just the look but wearability.

These are a few of my wedding day go to lip looks.

Burt’s Bees lip shimmer (color: peony)

It’s a cross between chapstick and lipstick. Not glossy, but has a hint of shimmer (non glittery). Great for that low-mantinence bride that knows she needs color on her lips for pictures, ect., but could truly care less. It’s easy, small, and could fit in your bra if need be!

Sephora – Cream lip stain (Red 01)

Red is a bold look for any bride, but if done right can be glamorous! This product is a matte drying lipstick stain. This is my personal go-to red lipstick product. I love it! Also, you can apply a clear gloss over it but also looks great just matte (and will transfer and be more kissable without the gloss).

Tarte LipSurgence lip tints

This line carries some of my favorite lip products by far. Tarte makes a few different lip products; glosses, matte lip color and more of a creamy lipstick that I prefer. The LipSurgence lip tint is a creamy lipstick blend, that has a light glossy shine. Depending on the color choice I would pair a neutral liner with these just to give added definition.

I love a bold lip on a bride, the pop of color in my opinion is to die for and so glam, but I believe neutrals are the way to go. Enough color, but not to much. Bridal makeup to me is about being a better version of yourself. Yourself being the key word in that sentence. You want to look like YOU!

Wearing a lightly colored neutral is easier, low-maintenence and can be re-applied with ease. Also, it will wear better throughout dinner. Which is just as much a concern. While on the other hand, red lipstick, needs constant care and reapplication. Although, if you’re just dying to have a Hollywood glam look on your big day, wear the red lipstick for your bridal portraits. That’s the easiest way to get the best of both worlds. Because your lips should not be an added concern on your big day.

Stay gorgeous ladies!!! 💋

Leave a comment